Skip navigation

From the horse’s mouth: Jake Brunger talks about his experience of Momentum Young Writers Programme

I was one of the very first group of writers to mentored as part of the Theatre Writing Partnership’s Momentum programme in 2004 whilst I was studying at college in Nottingham. Under the tuition of playwright Nick Wood, I attended weekly classes at Nottingham Playhouse which led to the development of my play Sam’s Game, which was produced at the inaugural Momentum Festival in 2005. Following that production, I wrote another play, Racing with Dogs and Knives, which TWP produced as a rehearsed reading at 2007’s festival. 

 
Since graduation from Bristol University last year, I have had two musicals produced; Jet Set Go! and The Great British Soap Opera, both of which ran at Edinburgh Fringe Festival and at Theatre 503 and Jermyn Street Theatre in London, and I am currently a member of the Royal Court Theatre studio group, where I am developing two new plays. I am also under commission to write a new musical for a commercial producer. 

 My time with Theatre Writing Partnership has greatly shaped the writing I do now, and if hadn’t have been for the early support of TWP who really encouraged my work, I’m not sure if I would be in the place I am now as a writer. Simply having someone to talk to about my work so early on made me feel like a ‘proper writer’ – and the numerous workshops and industry contacts I met at the festival are still invaluble in the work I do now. For example my play Meat Market was performed as part of a scratch night at the Hampstead Theatre, and the literary manager of Hampstead who was there on the night used to be a mentor on the Momentum course – so it’s a very small world indeed!

 I can’t recommend the work of the Theatre Writing Partnership enough. If you’re a writer looking for feedback on your play, they really are the best place to send your work in the East Midlands

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

