Skip navigation

The Bruntwood Prize – now open for submissions

The Bruntwood Prize is the search for great new plays. Now running for the third time, it is the biggest national competition of its kind and has awarded nine writers a total of £80,000 in prize money since 2005. It is run by the Royal Exchange Theatre, Manchester, and sponsored by property company Bruntwood.

Six winning scripts have gone on to be produced by the Royal Exchange, including work by Ben Musgrave, Duncan Macmillan, Fiona Peek and Phil Porter. Two winners from 2008 premiere at the Exchange this year, Vivienne Franzmann’s MOGADISHU (transferring to the Lyric Hammersmith) and Andy Sheridan’s WINTERLONG (transferring to Soho Theatre).

The Prize is open to anyone. Entries are welcomed from first time writers through to those who have had work produced and performed.

• First prize of £16,000, with the offer of a year’s attachment to the Royal Exchange
• Three further awards of £8,000 each

All four winners will have the chance to develop their play with the theatre, with a view to production. The prize provides a career-changing opportunity for writers to receive support that will allow them to focus on their work. As with four previous winners, leading theatre publishers Nick Hern Books will publish all winning plays that receive a production at the Exchange.

• The Prize is open to any writer from the UK or Ireland aged 16 or over
• Your play must be an original and unproduced piece of work for theatre
• Writers enter anonymously so that all work is judged equally

You can enter between 31st January and 6th June 2011

Entry for the Prize is online. For more information and writing resources and to enter your play visit the Bruntwood Prize website

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: